. egg-less salad & kimchi sandwich .

The weather has been pretty nasty these past two days with a good mix of rain, snow, ice and heavy wind. Ouch.

Going on, this makes me unmotivated to even step outside. Not only to the gym, but also to the dining hall. That means I scavenge my well-stocked fridge and snack box for nourishment. And thus…I made this sandwich.

P1000425.JPG

I know, I know. There’s about a gazillion recipes out there for “egg-less salads”. I’m not even going to claim that this one is life-changing. But the addition of kimchi gives the sandwich some kick of spicy goodness and “oompf” that perfectly balances the creaminess of the tofu salad.

Tofu “Egg-less” Salad & Kimchi Sandwich (serves 1)

Ingredients:

Tofu Salad:
1/4 block (~3.25 oz) firm tofu
1/2 TBSP vegan mayo
1 tsp dijon mustard
1-2 tsp nutritional yeast
1/4 tsp dried parsley
1-2 TBSP chopped green onions
salt and pepper to taste
pinch of paprika (optional)
pinch of turmeric (optional, for color)

Sandwich:
2 pieces of toast
2 TBSP hummus
kimchi

Instructions:

  1. Place all your ingredients for the salad in a bowl.P1000417.JPG
  2. Mash, mash, mash. (I put a little too much paprika in mine…)p1000419
  3.  Spread hummus on one side of your bread.p1000420
  4. Place the kimchi on top.p1000421
  5. Layer the tofu salad.p1000423
  6. Now crown everything with the remaining piece of toast. The beauty of carbs :’)p1000424
  7. Gobble up!

 

It’s been a while since I ate a homemade sandwich, that I forgot how magical they were. This will make a great lunch (or dinner!), since it’s easy to assemble and nutritious. Yeah protein!

Oh and if you’re wondering what vegan mayonnaise I used, it’s this one by Sir Kensington. Can you believe they made it from bean juice?!P1000416.JPG

I also made a version using: 1 tsp gochujang and 1 tsp tamari (nix the salt and rest of spices, except the nutritional yeast) to fit my Korean palate.

Well this sums up what I ate for two lunches in a row. Have a good week peeps!

Leave a Reply

