. rebecca’s cafe @ churchill hall .

Last week, I ate a late breakfast/early lunch from Rebecca’s after my morning lab session. I was about to take my usual course to Cafe Crossing, but the walk didn’t seem worth it. Plus, I like changing up my choices once in a while.

Rebecca’s Cafe is a catering service that also runs a few joints around Boston. It’s a good lunch spot for anyone looking for classic comfort food or quick deli. I say “quick”, but if you go during lunch rush, the line can get pretty crazy.

Luckily for me, there’s one located right in the Northeastern campus, and the place is pretty calm in the mornings. Tbh, I stay within the campus 90% of the time, because I don’t want to be tempted to spend money when I go out.

They have quite a few veg*an options for paninis, wraps and salads. There’s only one vegan item on the menu, but you can easily customize a vegetarian one or make your own creation.20170120_103724.jpgThis is their one vegan item that I got last time: Tabbouleh wrap. It’s essentially lettuce, tomato, cucumber, olives and quinoa in a garlic dressing. Simple but delicious.

20170120_103710.jpgThey also press it for you so that the tortilla is nice and crispy on the outside.

This time, I got one of their vegan salads and a ‘Bello-bello’ panini.

20170203_100827.jpg

20170203_100902.jpgRoasted mushroom, caramelized onions, pesto, roasted red pepper and hummus between a focaccia bun.

This one usually comes with cheese, mayonnaise and pesto, but I left those out and replaced them with the hummus and roasted red pepper. I thought that it was ‘pesto mayo’ not ‘pesto and mayo’, so when I ordered  without cheese and mayonnaise, I still ended up with the pesto in there. I didn’t send it back, since it’s my fault, but at least now I know to double check when I order.

20170203_101422.jpgI also treated myself to a chocolate soy milk. It was a Friday, and chocolate is never a bad idea.

The salads can be found pre-packaged in a small container on the refrigerated shelf along with fruit cups and yogurt parfaits.20170203_101913.jpgI got the vegan satay salad, which consists of a bed of romaine lettuce, carrots, cabbage, garbanzo beans, tofu and a satay dressing. I found this pretty disappointing, and I wouldn’t recommend getting a salad from here. It’s not particularly bad, but it’s not anything special that you should feel obliged to order. There’s a vegan quinoa salad too, but it looked even more boring than this one, so I didn’t bother trying it. However, I admit they are healthy options to-go when you want something healthier and less carb-y. Plus, you don’t have to stand in the long grill or deli lines.

Well that’s one more review down. I heard other locations have more vegan options, like Asian tofu wrap and falafel wrap. Hopefully, I can try out the other places and review those too.

Rebecca’s Cafe

Churchill Hall, 360 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02115

8 am – 3 pm (Mon.), 7 am – 4 pm (Tues. – Fri.), Closed (Sat. & Sun.)

Leave a Reply

