. blaze pizza @ fenway .

Just a forewarning: sorry for the crummy photos. This was shot at night with my phone camera. (yikes)

My friend from Texas(!) came over last Wednesday, and I ended up giving him a brief tour of the neighborhoods around my campus. After a walk around Newbury St. in the freezing weather, I brought him with me to Target to show him the Fenway area (tbh I just needed to buy contact lens solution and a loaf of bread). Since it was dinner time by the time we finished the “tour,” we stopped by Blaze Pizza on the way back to my dorm room.

20170315_191817 (2)The place is basically Chipotle style, where there’s a relay line of toppings which you can choose from.

There’s three options for the crust: traditional, high-rise, and gluten-free. I opted for the traditional  and decided to make a custom pie.

There were so many toppings to choose from, that it was kind of overwhelming. At least for me, who is terribly indecisive. I believe there were 4 sauces to choose from, two of which are vegan (traditional red sauce and spicy red sauce). There’s also vegan cheese available (hooray!), but it looked like Daiya and I’m not a huge fan of Daiya shredded cheese. It tastes kind of sweet, no? But I couldn’t pass up the opportunity and asked for half of my pizza to be sprinkled with some of it. As for the vegetable toppings, I went for fresh basil, kalamata olives, roasted peppers, sauteed onions, roasted garlic, and roasted zucchini.

20170315_191811 (2)They fast-fire the whole thing, cut it into six slices, and put it in this cute box for you (if you order to-go).

20170315_191541 (2)Though we didn’t eat in, the seating space is clean and pretty wide with the typical trending industrial interior design.

20170315_194218 (2)After trekking through the cold Boston wind, we finally got back to my room and opened up our pizzaaaaaa. I tried to be kind of healthy by having leftover kale salad on the side. Are you drooling yet?

The taste was surprisingly good for a fast-food joint, and the crust was just the way I liked it: thin and slightly crispy. Of course, don’t expect a 100% authentic Italian pie, but for $8.83, this was a pretty damn good meal.

Blaze Pizza 

1282 Boylston St., Boston, MA 02215

http://www.blazepizza.com

11 am – 10 pm (Sun.-Thurs.) & 11 am – 12 am (Fri.-Sat.)

Leave a Reply

